Muffins for Dinner?!

Yes, that’s right. We had muffins for dinner.

Meatloaf muffins!

The grocery store I went to yesterday grinds their own ground beef, and when I’m lucky enough to get the super-lean stuff, I take advantage of it. Usually, I’ll throw it into some pasta sauce or a dish that features its great flavor. I decided yesterday that it was a meatloaf-and-potato kind of week when it was SNOWING!

Adam really likes the end pieces of meatloaf, and we usually end up with a bunch of middle pieces and no ends because of it. I tried making meatloaf muffins once before, and they were decent, but something was missing. I usually use oatmeal as a binder in my meatloaf, because it’s what my mom did. Today, I decided to try again, and do things a bit differently.

I like small food!

I like small food!

Meatloaf Muffins with Ketchup “Frosting”

Ingredients

1.5 lbs lean ground beef

1/2 c. dried bread crumbs

1 egg

1/2 c. ketchup, divided

1 tbsp. garlic powder, divided

1 tsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

Directions

Preheat oven to 400*. In a large bowl, combine the meat, egg, bread crumbs, soy sauce, half the ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, and half the garlic powder. Mix well. Divide evenly into a 12-muffin tin, sprayed with cooking spray. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until juices run clear. Mix the remaining ketchup with remaining garlic powder, and spread on top of each muffin. Bake another 2-3 minutes.

These muffins were a great size, and 2 was “just enough” with the baby creamer potatoes I made. I found those adorable potatoes yesterday, and I simply boiled them, then tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, and a little thyme. I really have a thing for small food. Mini meatloaves, mini potatoes, and for dessert, I’ll have a tiny sundae. I usually eat my ice cream or dessert with the smallest spoon possible to make it last longer… and I like feeling like a giant sometimes!

Random Question: Do you have a “weird food thing” like my small food obsession? Share if you’re comfortable!

8 thoughts on “Muffins for Dinner?!

  1. I love tiny food!!!! And tiny silverware!!! I especially love eating my dinner with a salad fork, so it seems like I’m eating more. I thought I was the only one!!! :-) Mara, we are foodie sisters!!!

  2. So funny! I have the same “tiny” obsession! (I posted about it on my blog). I also LOVE bento boxes/laptop lunches/fitnfresh containers, etc. because of the cute little compartments for a variety of foods.

    I never thought to cook my family lil’ meat muffins, I’ll give it a shot. My recipe is similar to yours, except I use rice as a binder. :)

  3. I love the ketchup “frosting!” How creative! Almost makes you fell like you’re eating dessert :)
    My weird food thing= I absolutely cannot drink milk! I haven’t drank a single glass since I was a toddler! I dislike it so much I have to eat my cereal dry! lol, I’m not kidding! I don’t even like hot chocolate (GASP!) if it’s got a lot of milk in it! I love yogurts and ice cream though….
    Also, I am a sucker for all/any “seasonal” flavors. I get so curious!

  4. my weird food thing(s) include:

    1) i warm my ice cream in the microwave before eating it. 10-15 seconds and it’s soft enough for my liking. people think i’m weird because of this…eh, i probably am. lol

    2) i LOVE pepper. in large doses. my husband doesn’t see how i can douse my mac & cheese in as much pepper as i do. it would probably make anyone else sneeze and gag, lol. love pepper on my french fries, too. lots of it.

    3) i always eat my waffles, french toast, and pancakes with peanut butter and maple syrup. i didn’t know this was odd until i did it in front of my hubby and he laughed at me. all my friends laugh too. my whole family did this growing up …i thought it was normal.

    4) i have a habit of tearing my food…like, if i’m eating a sandwich i tear pieces off instead of biting them off. not sure why.

  5. I made meatloaf muffins like this last week! lol Mine were monster-sized though… :)

    Love your blog and will definitely be visiting more often!

  6. Pingback: My 100th Post Giveaway! « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

