Spicy Szechwan Pork Loin

Today was my first day back at work in 17 days… WHEW! I’m BEAT! The students were not in “school mode” yet, so they were extremely chatty. Hopefully tomorrow will be better. I stopped at the grocery store on the way home in the hope of finding something that struck my fancy for dinner… and wow, did I hit the store on the right day! It was the last day of the “New Years” sale, and I got a 2 lb pork tenderloin for $7! Oh, and also LaraBars were $1!!!!!!

When I got home, I put the pork in a spicy Szechwan marinade and let it sit for about an hour. I wished it could’ve been longer, but I did what I could. While the pork marinated and the enormous potatoes started baking, Adam and I had some (unphotographed) salads. Mine had a little cheese and tons of baby tomatoes. I could sit and eat entire containers of those tiny sweet tomatoes!

Simple and delicious!

Simple and delicious!

This was probably the simplest dinner in a while. There’s really no recipe other than to let the pork marinate as long as you possibly can. After finding this amazing deal of a pork tenderloin, I called my mom in a panic and said “What the heck do I do with a pork tenderloin?!” Her advice: “Marinate it as long as you can, and DO NOT overcook it! It’s already really tender, so just cook it to the right temp.”

Mom knows best!

This tenderloin had a great spice, and was completely moist and tender (I can’t believe I just said “moist and tender”. Both of those words kinda creep me out.) Much to my surprise, there were 2 smaller tenderloins in the package, so even though Adam and I finished off one of them, there’s still another one to eat the rest of the week!

Have a great week all! I’m looking forward to being back to blogging every day… I’ve really missed you all!

8 thoughts on “Spicy Szechwan Pork Loin

Leave a comment