We’re getting married!

Yesterday was a HUGE day! Adam and I (along with my mom and stepdad) went to visit our wedding venue, do a food tasting, and put down our deposit! We’re officially getting married at 5 p.m. on November 28, 2009 at this absolutely beautiful place called Venuti’s Banquets! We did our tasting, which was a complete 5 course meal for LUNCH, so needless to say, my dinner was nearly non-existent. I did want to share the amazing food we got to eat though.

We started out with fresh bread. There’s nothing like hot ciabatta and tomato focaccia! Then the soup came out. Since it was a tasting, 2 of us got Pasta e Fagioli, and 2 of us got Minestrone. Both were delicious! The salads came, and even though they had the dressing on them, it was very well made with field greens, romaine, cherry tomatoes, and a light white balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Next was the pasta course. Since it’s an Italian-owned restaurant and banquet center, they pride themselves on their homemade pastas and sauces. We tried their homemade rigatoni with 2 different sauces: fresh tomato pomodoro and tomato vodka cream sauce. Both were delicious, but the vodka sauce was out of this world! We’ll definitely be going with that one for the wedding!

Then the meats/entrees started coming. Since I like bulleted lists, we got to try:

  • Chicken Francese, a thin breast of chicken, lightly breaded, and topped with a lemon and white wine sauce. It was very much like chicken picatta, but instead of capers, it had a topping of a chiffonade of basil.
  • Chicken marsala with mushrooms, a breast of chicken with a marsala wine sauce and sauteed mushrooms.
  • Herb-crusted filet mignon, grilled
  • Herb-crusted ribeye, grilled
  • Grilled salmon with a lemon dill sauce

All the plates came with garlic mashed red potatoes and steamed veggies. We didn’t get to try desserts yet, but the cake tasting is something for another day.

I ate more in that one sitting than I think I have in months. I was full until about 6, when my friend and I went for Yogen Früz, my new favorite thing. It’s a 100 calorie, no sugar added, active culture frozen yogurt that they blend frozen fruit into. Yesterday, I got cranberry and peach.

Dinner was non-existent! I had a few chips and dip at a party, but that was it.

I promise: cooking blogs start tonight!

One thought on “We’re getting married!

Leave a Reply

