Italian chicken nuggets with pasta

Tonight’s plan was to just have pasta with some bottled pasta sauce, but when I got home from work, I remembered that we had an entire bag of frozen chicken breasts! Since I was needing something more substantial than just pasta, I decided to break out an old recipe to have with the pasta and sauce.

A bit of background: I’ve always cooked. I remember being a small girl, sitting in the kitchen, and feeling downright honored when my mom would let me peel the onions, peel potatoes, or, when I was older, chop ingredients. One of the first things I remember actually cooking with my mom was what we called “porcupine chicken”; a simple recipe involving dipping chicken breasts in ranch dressing and then coating with crushed up shredded wheat. We would either bake it or sautee it, and then I was so proud to say I cooked dinner!

The whole process of dipping chicken in a liquid and then a crumb-type mixture is something that I’m quite a fan of! Tonight, I cut some thawed chicken into small, bite-sized pieces. Then, I made an egg and milk mixture (1 egg, 1/4 c. milk) and dipped the chicken into it. Then I mixed about a tsp. of garlic powder with some simple breadcrumbs, and transferred the chicken. I flipped them around until all sides were evenly coated, and then cooked them in 2 tsp. olive oil.

I still made pasta and sauce. I had Smart Taste rotini with some Barilla Four Cheese sauce. Surprisingly, this sauce wasn’t much higher calorie than any other average bottled pasta sauce.

A bowl of the pasta and sauce topped with half the chicken I made was an incredibly satisfying dinner! There are some leftovers that I might just need to bring for lunch tomorrow…

One thought on “Italian chicken nuggets with pasta

Leave a Reply

