Dry-Rub BBQ Chicken

After a rather lame dinner last night while babysitting, I came home today and wanted something home-cooked. We didn’t have too much in the house, and I was NOT in the mood to go to the grocery store, so Adam and I figured out something to make. We still had some frozen chicken, so he took that out to thaw. he had suggested barbecued chicken, and with it being 38* and freezing rain outside, the grill just wasn’t happening!

I dug through my spice cabinet and found my Penzey’s Galena Street Rub. I sprinkled some on the raw chicken breasts and heated a frying pan with about 2 tsp. corn oil. Once hot, I added the chicken and cooked about 6 minutes on each side. Adam put some water up to boil for some noodles (Smart Taste rotini) on which I put some garlic powder and butter.

The chicken ended up with a nice spicy crust on it, and the noodles were mellow to balance out the spice. I now have a craving for something I’ve already had today! My mom took me to a new frozen yogurt place, Red Mango. It’s a 100% natural, fat-free, active culture frozen yogurt, and its fantastic! It tastes something like frozen creme fraîche, and with a drizzle of honey… oh my god… thats all I’m going to say.

There are similar chains throughout the country including Yogen Früz and Pinkberry are a couple I can think of… I highly recommend this stuff! Its divine!

Leave a Reply

