Simplicity

My friend Judee told me weeks ago about a simple dinner she was making for her family. She said that it was an old family favorite, her husband liked it, her son liked it… so I of course asked “What is it?”

Here’s the recipe she gave me:

Dad’s “Marinara”

Simplicity is key

Simplicity is key

Ingredients

1 lb noodles, cooked

1 lb ground beef, browned

1 can tomato soup

garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste

Directions

Mix meat, noodles, and soup together, heat through. Season to taste.

I believe I said, “Um, thats it?” “That’s it,” she said. In my head I was thinking “There is no way I could ever make something so simple for dinner and have both Adam and I enjoy it.”

Adam has very simple tastes, so I knew he’d like something like that, and I’m finding that sometimes, I like simple just as much as an involved recipe. After I realized tonight that I’d forgotten to buy a key ingredient for the dinner I’d planned, I decided to try Judee’s recipe.

I found the soup to be too thick on its own, so I added about half a can of water. I also added about 1 Tbsp. Smart Balance Light My “to taste” was about 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. oregano. I was absolutely shocked when I tasted this simple concoction…it was fantastic! Something about the ground beef and the soup and the pre-cooked noodles was just delicious! Adam was quite a fan as well… he had 2 bowls! I’m looking forward to having leftovers for lunch tomorrow, and a tremendous thanks to Judee for the recipe!

QOTD: What ingredients do you always have on hand for a “go to” meal?

8 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. simple is best, so much of the time. this looks like a classic example. things we ALWAYS have in the pantry, without fail = pasta, japanese noodles, rice (to cook in the rice cooker). there’s always something we can make pasta sauce with!

  2. Pingback: What a Wonderful Day!! « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

