Pseudo Summer

Sorry about the lag in posts… last night we were taken out for dinner for my step-cousin’s birthday, and I didn’t think you’d want to read about my ahi tuna stir fry on chow fuun noodles since I didn’t make it!

This weather here is officially weirding me out. For the last 3 days, it has been 70 and sunny. Election day is supposed to be cold. So is the day after. Its just not right! The warm weather made me want summer food again, so tonight was burger night!

Summer in mid-fall

Summer in mid-fall

Mara’s Summer Burgers

Ingredients

1 lb. extra-lean ground beef

1 egg

1/4 c. Italian bread crumbs

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 Tbsp. olive oil

Thoroughly mix all ingredients together and form into 4 patties. Heat oil in a non-stick frying pan and gently place the burgers into the oil. Cook 3-4 minutes on either side, depending on how well done you want the burgers. Serve on a whole-wheat bun with cheese if you would like. If weather permits, forgo the olive oil and grill outside!

I also made “home fries” to go with the burgers. In case you haven’t noticed, I have a plethora of red potatoes to use up, hence the multitudes of red potato recipes! These were as simple as simple can be! I microwaved 2 red potatoes for 7 minutes, then cut them into small pieces and sauteed them in a pan with some seasoned salt.

There was some steamed broccoli as well that I topped with some Smart Balance spread. I haven’t had buttered broccoli in the longest time, and it was FANTASTIC!! I’m so glad we splurged on the Smart Balance.

…and now, a word from our sponsor…

The lovely Amanda at Chobani sent me a very generous sample of their Greek yogurts: 2 strawberry, 2 blueberry, 2 peach, 1 vanilla and 1 plain. I love Greek yogurt, and was interested to try the fruit kind! Adam offered to do some of the tasting for me, and here’s what he had to say:

“The strawberry was much better than the blueberry. I like the texture of “regular” yogurt much better, but the fruit part of these was good. There was a lot in the container, but if you’re looking for a fruit yogurt, there’s not enough fruit in these to consider them a fruit yogurt. They were a great snack though, and I’m glad we have more of them!”

I’ll be trying a peach and/or the vanilla tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Pseudo Summer

  1. Pingback: All Natural, WONDERFUL Meal! « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

