Chili Blanco

It’s a rare thing when Adam specifically asks for something for dinner, so when, over the weekend, he asked me to make white chili one night, I was happy to oblige. We haven’t had white chili for a while, but I make regular “red” chili fairly often.

I had my first experience with white chicken chili when I was about 14 at the St. Louis Bread Company, now known as Panera Bread. I remember getting it in a sourdough bread bowl, and was so sad when the chili was gone! Since this was before the days of checking an online menu for “soups of the day”, every single time we went there, I would hope they had that spicy chicken chili.

When I joined Weight Watchers almost 3 years ago, I went recipe crazy. I collected hundreds of recipes from dozens of websites! I came across a recipe for crockpot white chili, and made it as soon as I got my first crockpot. It. Was. Amazing.

I didn’t pull it together this morning to put the chili in the crockpot, so I adapted the recipe to the stovetop, and I don’t think I’ll ever crockpot it again. This was a near-replica of the Panera chili I fell in love with 14 years ago.

...with mozzarella on top...

...with mozzarella on top...

Chili Blanco

Ingredients

1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken breasts

2 small (15 oz) cans (or one box) chicken stock

1 small (15 oz) can sweet white corn, drained

2 small (15 oz) cans white beans (Great Northern or Cannellini), drained and rinsed

1 small (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilis (Like Ro-Tel), drained

1 Tbsp. cumin

1 small onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, crushed

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. olive oil

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large pot. Add the garlic and onion, and sautee until transluscent. Add the chicken and broth. Bring to a boil and add remaining ingredients. Cover, and lower heat for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Shred the chicken (it should shred easily), and stir well. Top with sour cream and/or cheese.

Alas, after the tomato-chili-corn-bean goodness, I appear to be developing a bit of heartburn, but its so worth it. This was a fantastic meal, and Adam enjoyed it too.

A quick thanks to all of you who have been reading and commenting on my blog! This experience has been really great, and has even reunited me with an old friend (HI FANCY!!!!!!). Big hugs to all!!!

12 thoughts on “Chili Blanco

  1. this sounds super easy and filling – now i just need to get some cannelloni beans and i’m all set! definitely bookmarking this recipe!

  2. Hey Mara – I am going to make your white chicken chili – it looks absolutely delicious. I like your site – I’ll have to go back and read your other dinners, too.
    Nice work!
    -Diane

  3. this sounds soo delicious. i love warm, filling food when it’s so damn cold it. the sour cream is the perfect topper.

    ps- i used to love panera bread sourdough bread bowls!! i would always get the brocolli cheddar. uhh my gosh. it’s sex in my mouth!!

  4. YUM white chili sounds amazing. I love the idea of using shredded chicken instead of ground because for some reason, the ground beef texture thing never really sits well with me. Thanks for the great recipe!

  5. I’ve been to the St Louis Bread company!!!! I just wanted to throw it out there, cause most of the time, I have no clue about the restaurants and stores people talk about, but I’ve been to the bread co! I remember it was fantastic.
    I’ve never had white chili before; I actually didn’t even know such a thing existed! I CANNOT wait to try this, it’s getting Chilly so its the perfect time for Chili! haha

Leave a Reply

