Mom’s Home!

My mom got back from her trip to southeast Asia on Thursday, and she decided to have Adam and I, my sister and her boyfriend, and my “aunt” over for dinner. (“Aunt” is in quotes, as she’s not blood related, but as close to an aunt as I’ve got!) It was so great to have my mom’s cooking after all these weeks of blogging about nostalgic smells and tastes. I brought my Buffalo Chicken Dip, and it was absolutely gone before we started looking at the slideshow of my mom and stepdad’s pictures! Guess everyone liked it!

My mom made one of our winter favorites, Gingersnap Meatballs. These can easily be made with turkey, but she made them with super-lean ground beef.

Gingersnap Meatballs

Ingredients

  • 2 pound(s) raw extra lean ground beef
  • 4 slice(s) whole-wheat bread
  • 1/2 cup(s) ketchup
  • 1 package(s) frozen chopped onions
  • 12 oz chili sauce
  • 18 oz water
  • 1 cup(s) onion(s)
  • 1/2 cup(s) ketchup
  • 10 small item(s) gingersnap(s)

Instructions

Combine meat, 1/2 c. ketchup, chopped onions, salt and pepper to taste. Thoroughly wet the slices of bread until mushy, crumble, and add to mixture. Form into meatballs and put in a pan. Combine remaining ingredients through gingersnaps and put on top of the meatballs. Simmer over a low heat, gently shaking the pan every few minutes. Do not move the meatballs until completely cooked! Smash gingersnaps into a course crumb, and sprinkle over the mixture. Enjoy!
These meatballs were a standby on many Hanukkah dinners, and always remind me of fall/winter. It was great to have them with my mom at her house! We also had a great salad to start, and finished off the meal with her fantastic Rice Krispie Treats!
QOTD: What’s your favorite nostalgic smell/dish? Mine is roasting chicken or turkey… ah the memories…

7 thoughts on “Mom’s Home!

  1. gingersnaps in a meatball? that sounds so fun. i’m sure they were tasty. all the foods that have weird ingredients thrown in them are usually really good.

  2. every time that I bake….the smell coming out of the oven distracts me completely~~~~~~~hahahah….. that’s why I only do baking on sunday ^_^

    I’m still thinking about words for the header. it’s so hard~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

