Surprisingly Great Enchiladas

I’ve had a major Mexican food craving over the last few weeks, and finally decided to make something that scratched that itch. I also wanted to use the BSI (Blogger Secret Ingredient), and I was then in a pickle. Do I use the BSI or make Mexican food?

I searched a bit, and found a fantastic recipe on GlutenFreeMommy.com for:

Pumpkin Chicken Enchiladas!

I was skeptical. Pumpkin? In an enchilada? Pumpkin belongs in a pie or in oatmeal. That’s it. But I decided to be adventurous and try this recipe. It was simple enough, and since we already had chicken in the house, it was VERY inexpensive. I bought handmade tortillas, and they didn’t hold up to baking very well, so the following picture is NOT representative of taste.

Not your average enchilada...

Not your average enchilada...

PUMPKIN CHICKEN ENCHILADAS

8 corn tortillas

leftover chicken, shredded (maybe a pound)

roasted green chiles, chopped small

6 oz. of reduced-fat cheddar cheese

Sauce

1 can of pumpkin puree (15 oz)

3-4 cloves of garlic, peeled

1 jalapeno (remove seeds and membranes if you don’t need extra heat)

1 teaspoon chile powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

2 teaspoons of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

1 1/2 cups of chicken stock or water

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. In a blender, puree pumpkin, jalapeno, chicken stock, garlic, chile powder, cumin, salt, and pepper. Place 1 cup of this sauce in the bottom of an 8 inch glass casserole dish. In a bowl, combine shredded chicken with green chiles, cilantro, and/or scallions and season with salt and pepper. Place some of the chicken mixture on each tortilla and then lay the tortilla seam side down in the casserole dish. Pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas. Top with cheese. Bake for 20-25 minutes until cheese is melted and casserole is bubbly.

WOW is all I can say. This did not taste at all like pumpkin, and rather tasted like a super rich enchilada sauce without the actual richness! I will make these again, and even Adam finished eating them after I told him the sauce had pumpkin. That’s a real seal of approval!

13 thoughts on “Surprisingly Great Enchiladas

  1. mmmmmmmmmm………delicious!!! pumpkin is so versatile…it makes everything creamier, right?
    I’ll put this into my to-do list!

  2. wow i love your twist on this dish. sounds great!!

    the jalapeno pepper made me remember when i used a serano chile (i think that’s how it’s spelled) to make salsa one time and my fingers burned for 2 days straight. i couldn’t get the chile juice out from under my fingernails!! now, when i deal with any pepper/chile, i wear plastic gloves or have my mom do it haha

  3. i am SOOOO going to try this, and SOON! maybe this weekend if we aren’t over loaded with leftover turkey. hey wait…maybe i’ll make TURKEY enchiladas! omg. yes. you’ve inspired me lol

Leave a Reply

