You put WHAT in dinner??

The first time I made the recipe I made tonight, I intentionally started cooking it before Adam got home from work. Why? Well, for one, it has onions in it, which he doesn’t like. The other reason is the true one… this meal has an unorthodox ingredient in it: Diet Coke!

I know, I know, it sounds weird. I originally saw this recipe on the Weight Watchers message boards, and put off making it for so long because it sounded so strange. When I finally made it, it was a HUGE hit, and I was super surprised. The original recipe was simple: 1 lb chicken, 1 cup ketchup, 1 can diet coke. Place all ingredients in a covered pan, cook 45 min, then shred the chicken and stir. That was it.

Being the cook that I am, I couldn’t leave a recipe that simple alone. So I edited and figured out what would taste good, and came out with the following recipe. I ate it tonight with brown rice and green pepper strips.

Yes, there's Diet Coke in there!

Yes, there

Diet Coke Chicken

Ingredients

1 lb. boneless and skinless chicken breasts or thighs

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 c. ketchup

1 can diet cola (doesn’t have to be Coke)

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. olive oil

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a pan that has a lid. Add the onions, and sautee until transluscent. Then add the chicken and brown on both sides. Add ketchup and diet cola. Stir gently, bring to a boil, then cover and reduce heat. Simmer over low to medium heat about 40 minutes. Remove the chicken from the sauce and shred with two forks. Return the chicken to the sauce and add hot pepper. Cook another 5 minutes and serve.

The flavor of this is like really good barbecue. I think some vinegar and more ketchup could be added to make this more of a “Carolina” style bbq, and the same recipe with pork in a crockpot is delicious as well! It’s great on rice, polenta, and my very favorite way to eat this stuff is on a whole wheat bun.

Oh, and for those of you wondering what Adam said after I eventually told him that there was diet Coke in this delicious BBQ sandwich he was eating… I believe he said “What? What the heck? I don’t understand! I don’t taste it at all!”

For today’s “story of the plate”, I bring you the story of my grandma’s “everyday” dishes: As long as I could remember, every time I went to my grandma’s house, I got to eat off of “special” plates with pictures of cheeses on them, and my mom and grandma would eat off the “boring grown up plates.” When we’d have family dinners, we’d use one of her many sets of fancier dishes. Once I got a bit older, it wasn’t such an “occasion” to go to grandma’s house, so I got to eat off the “boring grown up plates” too. When grandma passed, I inherited her “boring grown up plates” as my own, and use them almost daily. We’ll keep them as backup dishes even after we get new ones.

10 thoughts on “You put WHAT in dinner??

  1. I love that recipe! How different and easy to make! So nice you have your grandma’s plates. I have my grandma’s china. I’ve never used it, but it’s a great memory. Have a wonderful night!

  2. Ha, this recipe reminded me of the diet coke cake! Mix any flavor cake mix with any flavor diet soft drink. The possibilities are endless!

    My favorite though is carrot cake mix with diet 7-up – it makes a moist quick cake when you don’t have eggs in the house!

  3. You asked what people think, so… I like the new header. It’s better than the last one :). Same idea, classier execution. 🙂

  4. Get out of here!
    I love Diet Coke. That sounds fabulous.
    They sell Dr. Pepper beef jerky in Austin, so anything’s possible!

  5. Cooking with Diet Coke? Insanity! haha. But what a creative ingredient! I suppose the coke acts to tenderize the meat??? Do you think it’s similar to cooking with beer?
    I like your story about the plates 🙂 Whenever I visited my grandma, my uncle (who lives next doors to her) would let my brother and I eat as much pudding as we could handle. When you’re in grade school, this was the coolest thing EVER! haha. I can’t possibly imagine eating that much pudding now 🙂

  6. It’s not as weird as it sounds. I’ve seen many a recipe in my travels using soda. I’ll definitely need to try it out, since I always have chicken and diet coke hanging around my house! Sounds like an excellent sandwich filler, if you let the sauce reduce enough.

Leave a Reply

