Shrimpy Goodness

Today was my first day off for Thanksgiving break, so I definitely took advantage! I slept in, watched Oprah, played some Animal Crossing on the Wii, went out for lunch at Panera with Adam, and then came home and literally did nothing. It was AWESOME!

We both got hungry pretty early (the curse of bread and soup for lunch), so I decided to throw together a stir-fry with what we had in the freezer. We had frozen cooked shrimp, a bag of Asian-style vegetables, frozen broccoli, and this spicy stir fry sauce I’ve been dying to try.

Today’s dinner doesn’t even get a recipe its so simple! Cook the vegetables in a small amount of oil in a wok. Add shrimp. Cook til no longer frozen. Add sauce. Cook til heated through. Serve on rice.

See? Simple! And GORGEOUS!

Spicy and delicious!

Spicy and delicious!

In no particular order, the vegetables in this lovely stir fry are:

  • red peppers
  • baby corn
  • broccoli
  • edamame
  • water chestnuts
  • sugar snap peas
  • shrimp…wait, not a vegetable, but still quite delicious!

I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s dinner which will probably be even simpler…and then on to the Thanksgiving festivities! We have 4 or possibly 5 SEPARATE EVENTS to go to between Thursday and Sunday!

QOTD: What’s your favorite Thanksgiving tradition? Oddly enough, my favorite thing is on Thanksgiving morning, turning on the Macy’s parade, and then waiting for my phone to ring so my mom and I can squeal in excitement about seeing the Rockettes!

9 thoughts on “Shrimpy Goodness

  1. I make that stir-fry pretty often, just grab some veggies and meat (shrimp or chicken) and a delicious meal is done.
    I don’t have any thanksgiving tradition because we don’t celebrate it. But the equivalent holiday would be new year for us, and our tradition is to visit relatives, eat a lot, watch special TV shows, etc. My favorite now is just to be able to be with my family.

  2. I love watching the Macy’s parade! It’s my favorite thing to do…well aside from eat, of course!

  3. Shrimpy goodness indeed!!!

    And am I embarrassed to say turning on the dogshow? Yes! But dangit I watch it Every thanksgiving while cooking dinner with my nana!

  4. I love the parade, too! It was so strange when I lived in NY to see the floats all lining up near my apartment! I like to pretend I’m a rockette. πŸ˜€

  5. What a relaxing morning! πŸ™‚
    Our traditions are evolving, which I love. We got married and moved and now we’re doing things differently. Involving lots of BBQ!

  6. I also love the Macy’s parade, but I also flip back and forth between that and the Chicago Thanksgiving Day Parade. I squeal with excitement when I see my own actor friends doing musical numbers to promote their shows! It makes me feel famous. πŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving Mara!

  7. Dinner looks delish!

    My niece is actually IN the Macy’s parade this year! She plays the flute for her high school band – supposedly she’ll be on t.v. at approximately 10:23 central time – can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

