Vegetarian Friday

My stepdad’s family has this very cool tradition of “Vegetarian Friday” the day after Thanksgiving. The original assumption was that everyone had more than enough meat on Thursday, so it was time for some vegetables! I’ve missed the last couple of years’ dinner, but Adam and I decided to go this year. The rules were to come and bring a dish to share, preferably homemade, but definitely vegetarian. I asked around, and after much thought, decided against the original plan of Snobby Joes for 20. My stepdad’s aunt generally makes the “main dish” and I didn’t want to step on any toes. So what did I make?

Baked, brown, and delicious!

Baked, brown, and delicious!

Cheesy Corn Pudding

Ingredients

1 box Jiffy corn mix

1 can sweet corn, drained

1 can cream-style corn

2 eggs

8 oz. sour cream

1 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

Pre-heat your oven to 375*. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together. Pour into a casserole dish sprayed with cooking spray. Bake until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

This was inspired by See Bride Run’s Thanksgiving post, and since I can’t leave a simple recipe alone, I mucked with it and came out with what turned out to be one of the first-to-be-finished dishes at this enormous potluck! I had every intent of taking a picture of a piece of it, but I ate it too quickly. YUM!

Many people that were there also reminded me that EXACTLY one year from today is OUR WEDDING!!!!!!! Next Thanksgiving will certainly be a nerve wracking and exciting time!

Since many of you haven’t seen me, I decided to be a bit of a nerd and say:

Hugs to you all!

Hugs to you all!

7 thoughts on “Vegetarian Friday

  1. you are SO pretty! and the picture of the corn pudding looks great! what a wonderful idea to have a vegetarian friday the day after thanksgiving!

  2. great idea to just eat veggies the next day….. somehow to let our digestive system a day-off too!
    Great recipe for the corn pudding, I’m sure everyone will love you,

    And finally so good to meet you, Mara. You look so happy in that photo!

  3. awww hugs to you too!
    Vegetarian Friday is quite possibly the best idea I’ve heard in a while….. though I must say I find it very difficult to stay away from the turkey…. haha
    Corn pudding sounds divine!

Leave a Reply

