Thanksgiving #4

Yes, that’s right, we had our 4th Thanksgiving dinner tonight! FOURTH! Thats so much FOOD! This time, luckily, was at my mom’s house, and she cooks extremely healthfully, so I rarely have to worry about what’s in dishes there. She’d asked me to bring mashed sweet potatoes, so that’s what I brought! They came out really well, but unfortunately, the picture doesn’t do them justice.

The room was not red, I swear!

The room was not red, I swear!

Lovely Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

1 sweet potato per person (I used 8!)

1/4 c. brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 400* and put the potatoes in the oven for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, reduce the heat to 350* and bake at least another 60 minutes. When the potatoes are done, place them in a large bowl and mash/blend using an immersion blender. When smooth, add cinnamon, ginger, and brown sugar and mix thoroughly. Transfer to a baking dish and bake in the oven about 15 minutes until the top is lightly browned.

Many people say that you should NOT use a blender for mashed potatoes. Usually, its not a good idea with white potatoes as they get gummy/gnocchi like. With sweet potatoes, there are long fibers that are unpleasent in mashed potatoes, so it works well!

The rest of the meal was to die for! We started with 3 beautiful gourmet cheeses and crackers that my sister and her boyfriend brought: cheddar with chives, triple cream brie, and boursin. My mom had also made delicious hummus that we ate with pita chips.

When we sat down, we were greeted by the most GORGEOUS spread! There was beef tenderloin, green beans, salad, cranberry sauce, and my grandmother’s recipe for stuffing (which tastes like the inside of kishke). Here are a couple pictures, after we’ve already devoured our first plates:

Roast beef, horseradish sauce, stuffing in the background

Roast beef, horseradish sauce, stuffing in the background

Cranberry sauce and green beans... and diet cream soda!

Cranberry sauce and green beans... and diet cream soda!

We finished off the meal with pumpkin pie, and a new recipe my mom tried for a pumpkin-chocolate tart courtesy of Martha Stewart. It was also my sister’s boyfriends birthday yesterday, so he got birthday cheesecake.

I don’t think I need to eat again for at least 24 hours… but alas, I’ll be hungry in the morning!

9 thoughts on “Thanksgiving #4

  1. your sweet potato dish looks great! i’m glad you had a wonderful 4th thanksgiving! and happy bday to your sister’s boyfriend!

  2. woooooo…… 4 thanksgiving meal~~~~~~~ That’s great!!!!!! Specially you have it with your family! So jealous! ^_^

  3. i look fwd to trying that salmon basil pasta. that sounds like my kinda dish! and i love the atmosphere the red lighting gives that photo-it is divine!

    thanksgiving food never gets old. or does it…?

    hehe, have a great day!

  4. 4 thanksgivings!!! yummmmmm! Four times the fun! 😉 Haha I know how you feel about feeling like you can’t eat for the next 24 hours…. I hate it when you’re so full, but you’re really thirsty, and you really can’t even stand to have another gulp! haha, gotta love feasts! Especially when they involve triple cream brie. Oh my 🙂

Leave a Reply

