Non-vegan, Not-So-Natural dinner

CAUTION! THIS IS NOT AN ALL-NATURAL VEGAN, VEGETARIAN, RAW, OR VEGGIE-FULL MEAL! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK! ๐Ÿ™‚

OY did I have a long day!! I won’t go into details, but lets just say that a trip to the grocery store after work was NOT top on my list. I went though, as we needed supplies for dinner, and I desperately needed a snack. I went into the store having NO idea as to what dinner was going to be. I wandered down the health food/organic aisle, and what did they happen to have? LARABARS!!! AT MY NORMAL GROCERY STORE!!! 4 for $5!!! SO EXCITED!

Ok, no more caps. Anyway, once I knew I had a car snack, I could think about dinner, and the first thing that came to mind was chicken carbonara. Don’t know why, but it was ALL I wanted. I went through the store, grabbing what I needed, and then hurried up to check out. The result: HUGE HIT! (And fairly low-Pointยฎ too!)

Trying the "close-up"...what do we think?

Trying the close-up, what do we think?

Cheapo Chicken Carbonara

Ingredients

2 chicken breast halves, cut into small pieces

1 small onion, diced fine

2 tsp. olive oil

1 can peas, drained

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/2 c. fat free milk

5 strips center-cut bacon, cut into small pieces

1 lb. high-fiber or whole wheat pasta, cooked

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil and add the onion. Once the onion is transluscent, add the chopped bacon and cook until crispy. Then, add the chicken and cook until nearly done. Stir in the soup and milk, and then add the peas. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and then stir in the cooked pasta. Serves 6.

The one problem with this recipe is that now, I have over half a package of center-cut bacon in the fridge. Luckily a) I love bacon and b) center-cut bacon is much lower fat than regular bacon! I also have though, 2 new Larabars to try!

QOTD: What have you bloggers found is the most effective way to increase blog traffic? Some days I have over 400 hits, and other days, barely 200… I don’t get it! Any hints you can offer would be great ๐Ÿ™‚


12 thoughts on “Non-vegan, Not-So-Natural dinner

  1. You’re so lucky to have Larabar’s at your grocery store! Mine have like 2 different flavors. I have to drive an hour away to get more…although they are worth it! Love your dinner…I love anything with chicken!

  2. wow this sounds awesome!

    can I ask what the NI is per serving? I amdying to try it, but need to figure out the WW pts!

  3. Fortunately I’m not vegan, otherwise I won’t be able to try this amazing recipe!

    about the blog traffic, I have no clue of it, I don’t even know how you check daily hits!

  4. You know I immediately kept reading being the chickenlover I am.

    And the hits? Don’t ask me.
    Its all so random and supposedly a great way to get traffic is by including key words in yer post titles.

    Me? I work NOT to use key words.
    (Ok I don’t know what these words are but you get my point ;))

    Love,

    Ima Rebel

  5. thank you for visiting my blog again! don’t worry, we all have non-natural non-anything meals from time to time ๐Ÿ˜€ i love what you are doing with the look of some of the other blogs, you are great at it!!

  6. haha, I had a meal not so natural not so vegan meal last night too; pasta with beef! And I hardly ever eat beef.
    OMG larabars on sale??? I am so super ridiculously jealous!
    As for increasing blog traffic; I would love to know too!
    Love your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I love the warning and I love chicken carbonara!

    I am not sure about blog traffic. I am sure there are specific stragies and I would like to know them, too. I agree w/ CCV, I think commenting helps.

Leave a Reply

