Funky Salad

I’ve been in a bit of a funk today.

Exactly 2 years ago, well… 2 years ago Nov. 29, my grandmother was diagnosed with cancer. We put her in Hospice Care on Christmas Day, and she passed away a month later. Something about this time of year always has gotten to me since it’s dark when I leave for work and dark when I get home. Something hit me today though… it was snowing, dark, slippery… and I remembered driving to my grandma’s house in her last weeks in very similar weather. I got extremely sad that she won’t be here for our wedding next year…well, at least not in body.

And now that I’m tearing up again, on to dinner!

I hit Trader Joe’s yesterday, and bought some beautiful produce and chicken, and thought that there was no better way to use it than in a beautiful salad. No recipe, just some sauteed chicken with a little garlic, and then a mix of greens and veggies:

i love iPhoto

i love iPhoto

This salad features:

  • fresh baby spinach
  • cherry tomatoes
  • chopped fuji apple
  • fat free feta cheese
  • dried cranberries and mixed seeds
  • sauteed chicken

I later topped this with Penzey’s Green Goddess, which I adore!

I’m off to veg out (no pun intended) for the rest of the night… and try to shake my funk.

7 thoughts on “Funky Salad

  1. sorry to hear that you’re sad about your grandma. I can tell that you’ve had a close relationship with her. It reminds me to visit and more time with mine who’s 95 years old when I go back for holidays.

  2. So sorry to hear about your grandmother. I lost mine a year ago this November. She was not well enough to come to my wedding either. Remember, she will be there in spirit.

    Love your dinner!

  3. Aww Mara, I’m really sorry to hear the story about your grandma, and how you are in a funk. It really doesn’t help that it’s dark and cold outside this time of year either. But I agree with StrongandHealthy; your grandma is there in spirit, watching over you, and watching over your health and happiness. When I lost my grandfather, I found comfort in knowing that he was in a better place, looking out for me.

    I think simpler salads are the best types of salads, and your salad looks delicious. Maybe a cup of tea or hot chocolate can cheer you up? We’re here for ya! 🙂

  4. i’m sorry to hear about your grandmother… but like others have said, she will be there watching you, fully well and completely happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

