Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast

It’s apparently Italian Week in our house… with the pizza chicken yesterday, and this amazing pot roast today! Before I get to the recipe, just a quick health update: I finally made it to the doctor today after a week with this lovely intestinal issue. My doc thinks I have a bacterial infection in my gut, so she gave me some heavy-duty antibiotics to get rid of it. I hope it does the trick because I’m DARN SICK of not feeling well!

Now, onto this recipe… back in my pre-crockpot days, I used to long for a tender potroast, but never had the equipment to make one. I didn’t have a crockpot, a dutch oven, or even a deep roasting pan in which to make said potroast. I finally caved and bought a high-tech crockpot with a timer, and the FIRST thing I made was a potroast. And it SUCKED. I scoured my favorite websites for recipes, and finally found this one. It was a hit with Adam because it didn’t have onions in it. I liked it for the roasted garlic. This recipe is from my absolute favorite recipe website, maintained by a wonderful woman named Heather. She’s famous on the Weight Watchers message boards!

Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast

Ingredients

This was so delicious!

This was so delicious!

4 medium potatoes, cut into quarters (4 c)
2 c whole baby carrots
1 stalk celery, cut into 1″ pieces
1 medium Italian plum tomato, diced*
2.5 lb lean beef round
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 can (10 3/4 oz) Campbell’s Condensed Tomato Soup
1/2 c water
1 TBS chopped roasted garlic ** OR chopped fresh garlic
1 tsp each dried basil leaves, dried oregano leaves and dried parsley flakes, crushed
1 tsp vinegar

Directions

Place potatoes, carrots, celery and tomato in 3 1/2-qt. slow cooker. Season roast with pepper and place on top.

Mix soup, water, pepper, garlic, basil, oregano, parsley and vinegar. Pour over all.

Cover and cook on LOW 10 to 12 hr (or on HIGH 5 to 6 hr), or until done.

*I used a 16 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, drained.
**To roast garlic, place whole garlic bulb on piece of aluminum foil. Drizzle with vegetable oil and wrap. Roast at 350°F. for 45 min. or until soft. Peel and chop garlic.
Serves 6

One note: I’ve tried this multiple times, and one time I didn’t roast the garlic. It is SO WORTH the extra time to roast the head of garlic instead of using raw! It adds a whole new dimension of flavor! This also works well with bone-in chicken breasts.

10 thoughts on “Zesty Slow-Cooker Italian Pot Roast

  1. loved the picture! i don’t think i’ve ever had pot roast, but now i’m dreaming of a crock pot (or a dutch oven) so i can make it! feels like a pot full of love!

  2. Thanks for your comment, I’ll be adding you right now 😀 ! As for your sickness, I hope you feel better…antibiotics do wonders for me! That meal looks delish, I really want to bust out our crockpot, but my kitchen has limited real estate, haha..so it’s stowed away somewhere!

  3. it sounds a perfect winter meal! I have a crock pot that I haven’t used it for long time….. maybe this one will make it work a little bit 😀

  4. This sounds great, you are so right about the roasted garlic. I have some in the fridge now that I need to use. I’m definitely making this recipe this week!

  5. Oh dear, I hope you start feeling better!
    I looooove the crock pot. I don’t use it enough, so thanks for the recipe. It looks like a great recipe for the cold days we’re getting recently! 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Gnu Fairy Came!! « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

