Bean Burrito Casserole

Well, there are only 4 more school days left before my glorious 10-day winter break! I’m beyond excited to sleep in, relax, spend time with family… and cook of course! When I have free time during the day, I’m able to make things that are significantly more involved than my normal everyday dinners. I don’t know what I’ll try yet, but I’m sure potato latkes will be on the menu at least once!

Since last week was unofficial “Italian” week in our house, I decided to shake things up a bit and make something Mexican-inspired. This recipe was one of the first few things I made when I started Weight Watchers and I haven’t made it in quite some time. Something sounded so delicious about it tonight, so I went out and got all the supplies! You get to see a lovely picture of the whole casserole minus one piece, as my one piece was certainly not appetizing to look at! I assure you it tastes fantastic though! This is very easily made with soy crumbles or TVP and soy or rice cheese.

There's nothing quite like rice and cheese!

There's nothing quite like rice and cheese!

Bean Burrito Casserole
8 Servings

1 lb meatless soy crumbles or lean ground beef
1/8 cup reduced-sodium taco seasoning (1/2 packet)
3/4 cup water
1 can (15 oz) yellow corn, no salt added, drained
1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes with green chilies (mild)
1 can (15 oz) fat free canned refried beans
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
2 cups fat free shredded Cheddar cheese
4 cups cooked brown rice
1 medium onion, diced

Directions

Dice onion and sauté in large skillet with soy crumbles. Add water and 1/2 packet of taco seasoning. Simmer until sauce thickens. Add canned veggies, tomato paste and beans. Spray a casserole dish and fill with veggie/bean/soy mixture. Top with 1 cup of shredded no fat cheddar cheese. Cover with cooked brown rice. Sprinkle remaining cheese over top. Bake covered at 350 until heated through, 20 min. Remove cover and continue baking until cheese is melted, 5 min. (Recipe from WW message boards)

On the Weight Watchers note, I’d like to direct you all to my friend Julie’s post over at Flip This Body that details some wonderful Weight Watchers fun tools and finds. Thanks Julie!

Thank you all for the encouraging words on my weight loss story post the other day… It was a little difficult to get all that out and post for so many strangers to see, but I’m really glad I did it.

6 thoughts on “Bean Burrito Casserole

  1. Pingback: Boring Leftovers « What’s For Dinner?

  2. I would like to say that fat free refried beans are the best thing ever. I steal packets of taco sauce from Taco Bell to put on them – yum!

Leave a Reply

