Anniversary Dinner

Last night was Adam and my 4-year dating anniversary! Since this is the last year that this anniversary will “count” since we’ll be married by this time next year, we decided to go out and celebrate! We went to a local favorite restaurant, Davis Street Fishmarket, and got some truly amazing food! I’m not at the point yet where I’m cool with taking pictures of my food while we’re out, so you’ll have to just deal with my descriptions!

I started with a glass of Riesling, which was just what I needed after my long day. We then ordered soup. I got a lobster bisque that was topped with lobster meat and a mirepoix (celery, onion, and carrot) in the tiniest dice I’ve ever seen! Adam got a cajun soup with shrimp and bacon… both were fantastic!

One of the reasons we love this place is their sweet potato fries. They’re thin and crispy, and they come with a brown sugar dipping sauce. Needless to say, we ordered those as well!

For dinner, I got a macadamia-nut crusted mahi-mahi atop a sweet potato mash with a brown sugar glaze. The fish was FANTASTIC, though I have to say, my mashed sweet potatoes were better! Even Adam said the same thing! Adam got pan fried scallops with a cajun sauce and red beans and rice.

Then, of course, we got dessert. Originally we wanted the caramel bread pudding, but they were out of it. So instead, we got the bananas foster. It was vanilla ice cream rolled up in a HUGE crepe, then topped with the caramelly warm bananas and sauce. It tasted great, but there were whole cloves floating in the sauce that I managed to bite into… not too pleasant!

All in all, a great night…

9 thoughts on “Anniversary Dinner

  1. AHHH OH MY GOSH I LOVE DAVIS STREET FISH MARKET!! It makes me so happy to read about a place that is literally BLOCKS away from me! Their desserts are fabulous!

    Happy Anniversary to you!! We need to meet up sometime ok?!

  2. I absolutely LOVE that you’ve heard of it!!! I grew up going to the 1 store-front pub-grub Davis Street, and its been so fun watching them expand.

    I’ll be in E-town quite a bit in the next 2 weeks, we’ll def. have to get together šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

