Tuscan-Style Chicken “Cassoulet”

I’m back! Did you miss me? I hope you’re all having a wonderful Christmas eve! After almost a week of not cooking or blogging, I was beyond thrilled to FINALLY make a dinner and know exactly what was in it! Just a quick recap of the last week before I start with today’s dinner:

  • Friday night (12/19), Adam and I went to a Hanukkah/Birthday party at my stepdad’s family’s. We got catered-in fantastic Italian food, whipped cream-topped cupcakes, and extremely generous gifts.
  • Saturday (12/20), I spent the day crocheting scarves for Hanukkah gifts, and then spent the evening babysitting. Dinner was Taco Bell (shameful, I know)
  • Sunday (12/21), was the first night of Hanukkah! We went to my mom’s for dinner and she had all our favorite Hanukkah traditions: latkes, smoked turkey sausage, and teriyaki chicken wings. Dessert was a homemade tiramisu!
  • Monday (12/22), we went to Adam’s mom’s for the 2nd night of Hanukkah, and had a dinner of fruit, veggies, and appetizers, and mini cheesecakes for dessert.
  • Yesterday, it decided to snow another oh, 5″, so neither Adam nor I wanted to go out! Dinner was carry-out Chinese!

PHEW!! No wonder I’m tired!! Tomorrow, my mom, stepdad, sister, and I are going to see The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and out for Chinese food again (like the rest of the Jews do on Christmas!). Then, we finally get a break until New Years.

On to tonights dinner… My mom got me the prettiest little casserole dish for Hanukkah on Sunday, and I absolutely had to break it in! We had a ton of chicken, so when we went to the grocery store for soda, I picked up a few things to throw into a simple dinner. I’m calling it a “cassoulet” because it’s got the beans and meat in it that a standard cassoulet has, but it’s not technically in a cassoulet dish!

How cute is that pan??

How cute is that pan??

Tuscan-Style Chicken “Cassoulet”

Ingredients

3 chicken breasts

2 red or yellow potatoes, sliced thin

2 cans white beans, drained and rinsed

1 can Italian-style diced tomatoes

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

2 tsp. olive oil

1/2 c. reduced fat shredded Italian cheese

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350*. In a small casserole dish, place slices of potato so that they make one even layer. Top the potatoes with the beans and tomatoes and half of the garlic powder. Add the chicken in one layer, then top with the other sliced potato. Bake covered, about one hour. Once the chicken is done, uncover the pan and top with the cheese. Return the casserole to the oven and bake until the cheese is melted and browned.

This was what I would call a “beyond satisfying” meal! One chicken breast and the equivalent of half a potato and about 1/2 c. beans was more than enough! Adam enjoyed it as well, and I’m looking forward to putting the remaining beans/potatoes on top of some polenta tomorrow!

Earlier today, I sent this picture to my mom via text message:

back yard, take 2

back yard, take 2

She said, and I quote “You should put this on your blog! Barbecued snow has zero Points®!” So…this is for you mom 🙂

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday…you’ll be seeing more of me now that the super craziness is done!

9 thoughts on “Tuscan-Style Chicken “Cassoulet”

Leave a Reply

