Super Sunday Supper

Oh I’m so glad to have cooked dinner again! I went to the grocery store today and was so excited to fill my cart with loads of produce and fresh meats instead of the random necessities for an appetizer here and there. There will be great eats this week!

Tonight’s dinner was simply comfort food. I made a simple roast chicken and mashed sweet potatoes, both using favorite recipes. The big difference between tonight’s dinner and the previous time I made each of these things is that tonights came out BETTER! The chicken was gorgeously brown, and because I let it cool before I carved it, it was super juicy. The mashed potatoes were smooth and creamy and very rich tasting without being very rich! Needless to say, I made a smaller batch than the original recipe too!

Pre-carving

Pre-carving

I'm practicing leaving spaces between my different foods at dinner

I'm practicing leaving spaces between my different foods at dinner

I’m really looking forward to tomorrow. Adam and I are both off all day, and then at 4 p.m. we’re going for acupuncture/massage appointments that were a gift from my dad. I think we’ll end up hanging out in the city for a while after our appointments, and maybe get dinner, but I’m looking forward to a relaxing day that DOESN’T involve shopping!
OH speaking of shopping… my friend and I went to an outlet mall on Friday, and I scored the deal of the century!! Just look at this gorgeous bag I got for less than 1/4 of its original price!

Photo courtesy of eBay, I couldn't get a good one

Photo courtesy of eBay, I couldn't get a good one

10 thoughts on “Super Sunday Supper

  1. I hear you – it’s sooooooooo good to cook & eat at home, esp during this crazy season. Love the snow on your site!

Leave a Reply

