We Got “Tank”ed!!

No no, Adam and I did not drink ourselves silly tonight! After a lovely acupuncuture session, given to us by my dad for Hanukah, Adam and I went for a fantastic sushi dinner at a relatively new restaurant in the Lincoln Square neighborhood of Chicago. Tank Sushi was discovered by my mom over the summer and she highly recommended that we go there. She took me there about a month and a half ago, and I was absolutely blown away by the imaginative rolls and dishes they offered! I couldn’t wait to bring Adam there!

*A quick side note: Adam and I had “Sushi Friday” every week for about 3 years… we got engaged at our regular place in a sit-on-the-floor tea room, and we are quite the sushi snobs!*

Tank Sushi did not disappoint! We met one of Adam’s friends there, so there was a LOT of food!  Unfortunately, the lighting was very “ambient” so taking pictures was not happening…but trust me, I tried! In my favorite bulleted list format, we started with:

  • I started with a “Princess Peach Cosmopolitan”, ordered for the peachiness, and the Nintendo reference. YUM!
  • Mixed-green salad with a creamy (tofu based) ponzu dressing with cucumber matchsticks
  • tempura fried goat cheese atop mixed greens with a spicy chili-lime viniagrette.
  • Edamame-crusted scallops atop a corn/mushroom/tomato mixture

Our meal came, and we had a great variety of rolls. It looks like a ton of food, but since each of the rolls had minimal or no rice, and lots of vegetables, it wasn’t an enormous quantity at all. I’ll copy and paste the names and descriptions of our rolls from the Tank Sushi website, of course in bulleted form:

  • Samurai Roll: tuna, yellow tail, apple & spring mix lettuce with spicy mayo topped with masago (fish eggs)
  • Lava Maki: tempura battered spicy shrimp, cream cheese, avocado maki topped with marinated crab, tobiko, sweet soy, chives and cilantro
  • Smokey Bear: unagi, cream cheese, avocado, cucumber and sesame seeds topped with Smoked salmon, sweet soy & wasabi mayo
  • Tempura Spicy Tuna: Tuna, masago, cream cheese, tempura battered and fried

THEN came dessert. We got two things. One was called a “banana dragon”. It was simple and refreshing, just a banana wrapped in a crispy eggroll wrapper. The second one… oh man… This was quite possibly one of the most delicious and decadent desserts I’ve had in a very long time. Luckily, there were two pieces of it, and two of us, because if there had been more, we would’ve eaten however much there was. This dessert was, without further adieu, a

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH EGGROLL

Quite literally, it was a chunk of cookie dough, wrapped in an eggroll wrapper, fried, and then served with the freshest strawberry dipping sauce I’ve ever had! I could eat this for dessert EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

*sigh*

We are back home now, basking in the satisfaction that can only come from great sushi, and for those of you that are locals, here’s Tank Sushi’s information:

Tank Sushi

Tank Sushi

Tank Sushi

4514 N. Lincoln Avenue

Chicago, IL 60625

Tomorrow is a big day!!! I’m going wedding dress shopping with my mom, my sister, and my “aunt”!!!!!! I’M SO EXCITED!!!!

3 thoughts on “We Got “Tank”ed!!

  1. just found your blog through a comment you made somewhere else and I am so glad! sushi friday is awesome! my BF and I had sushi 2 fridays in a row and I said we should make it a “thing”. The chocolate chip cookie dough eggroll sounds incredible.

Leave a Reply

