Peanut Noodles: Take 2

After yet another long and hectic day at work today (got there early, a pregnant teacher passed out and an ambulance was called, I covered an extra class during lunch, then supervised after school study hall… the teacher is fine, by the way! It was scary!), I got home and wanted noodles. I didn’t care what kind, but I wanted NOODLES DARN IT!

I asked Adam what kind of noodles he’d like, and he said that if I didn’t mind, could I make peanut noodles again? Um, lets see, long hard day, noodles, peanut butter… yes! I decided to take the opportunity to perfect the peanut noodle recipe, and I think I’ve got it! These were creamy and spicy and sweet, and I added peas this time!

I only had one piece of chicken... I wanted more noodles!

I only had one piece of chicken... I wanted more noodles!

PERFECT Peanut Noodles

Ingredients

1 lb. whole wheat or high-fiber pasta, cooked and kept hot

1/3 c. creamy peanut butter

1 tbsp. soy sauce

2 tsp. dark sesame oil

1 tbsp. red wine or rice wine vinegar

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Sriracha (Rooster sauce) to taste

cooked vegetable of choice (peas, broccoli, red peppers, etc)

Directions

Mix all ingredients from peanut butter through Sririacha in a small bowl. Stir until well-combined. Mix pasta with the vegetables, then add the peanut mixture. The heat from the noodles will melt the peanut butter. Stir to evenly coat the noodles. Add more sriracha if desired.

OH MY GOODNESS were these good noodles! I could eat them every day…which is why this is probably the last time I’ll make them for a while! Once this batch is gone, no more! I think I have a peanut butter problem…While I was eating these noodles, I had a flash. This recipe is remarkably similar to a recipe my grandma used to make with tiny tube pasta, baby peas, and a slightly spicy peanut sauce. I remember trying to shove as many peas as possible into each tube noodle, and then eating the stuffed noodles.

QOTD: Are you going to watch the new season of Biggest Loser? I think I am, though I think it creates unrealistic expectations for many overweight people. I find myself to be truly motivated by the contestants’ success, even though I’m usually eating dinner during the show!

10 thoughts on “Peanut Noodles: Take 2

  1. YUM! That chicken looks amazing…I agree about the show- I know some medical ppl don’t like their super-quick results, and I saw a bunch of the contestants on Oprah, and a lot of them seemed to be unable to maintain their huge losses, interesting.

  2. Great recipe! I’ll have to try that!

    And yes, I watch the Biggest Loser – I am the biggest sucker for it. However, I am interested in seeing how the people who get sent home do.

    Anyone can lose weight when:

    1. you are locked in a gym
    2. your food is provided to you
    3. you don’t have a job
    4. you don’t have to grocery shop, clean, run errands, take care of kids, family, etc!

  3. Whoa girl. I printed this already. 🙂
    I’ve never seen TBL but I hear it’s great – I’m trying not to add any new shows to my repertoire.

  4. I will be watching this season of the Biggest Loser (I’ve been hooked since 2 seasons ago). I was shocked to learn of the twist in this first episode. I don’t want to spoil it for everyone, but it really changes the format of the show to focus more on how the weight can come off when you’re at home.

    Did anyone else feel slightly threatened at the beginning of the show? I really disliked the opening where Bob and Jillian were reprimanding America straight into the camera for being lazy and obese. I thought it could have been an affective start to the season if done the right way, but I didn’t like the way it was done. They were really acusatory and finger-pointery, shouting stuff about how I need to get off the couch right now and get the weight off. (which I thought was also kind of funny because if everyone watching the show did that, there would be zero ratings.) Maybe it was because I had just come home from an hour at the gym and had just finished a small portion of a healthy dinner I made. I just really wanted to shout back at the TV, “Yeah, well I already did my work for the day, so shut up and let me enjoy the show!”

  5. YUM. Thanks Mara.

    I never watch TBL. I am never home on Tuesday nights and don’t care enough to DVR it. I am happy they lose, but in 3 years, will they still keep it off?

  6. I watched TBL for the first time last night. Like you said it can give people and unrealistic exectation for weight loss, but after watching it last night it gave me a little inspiration, I have no where near the amount of weight to lose that these people do but if they can do it, if they can start from where they are and reshape their lives, why can’t I?

  7. I don’t know why I am so addicted to that show. I hate the fact that I actually enjoy reality TV!

    What a crazy day for you! Love your dinner, as always!

Leave a Reply

