Aunt Della’s Meatballs

This whole going back to work thing is NOT getting any easier! When my alarm went off at 5 a.m. today, I just about threw my cell phone across the room! Luckily, the kids are getting more used to being back, as are the teachers, so the environment at work is much more “up” than is was the last 2 days.

After watching far too many episodes of “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” on Food Network, and watching dozens of cooks make amazing-looking meatball sandwiches, I decided tonight was meatball night! Then I remembered, Adam’s Aunt Della gave me her meatball recipe after I raved about them at Thanksgiving! I’m not sure I remembered it exactly, but I knew it was simple, and we had all the ingredients. Her original recipe uses all kosher ingredients, and does not mix milk and meat. My meatballs tonight would not follow these rules, but they were still good! Adam said they tasted like Aunt Della’s, so I think that’s a seal of approval. I also made some sweet potato fries and creamy polenta to go with the meatballs.

Meatballs, on top of creamy polenta, topped with sauce, and surrounded by SP fries

Meatballs, on top of creamy polenta, topped with sauce, and surrounded by sweet potato fries

Aunt Della’s Meatballs (or close enough!)

2 lbs lean ground beef (90% lean or more)

1 c. seasoned bread crumbs

1 c. jarred tomato sauce

2 eggs

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 375. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients until well combined. Form into 24 (or so) meatballs and place on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake until tops are brown and the juices run clear. Serve as desired.

Yup. That’s it. Seriously a simple recipe! It works well with turkey, and I’d be willing to bet it would work well with TVP or other “meat”.

So, Aunt Della, if you’re reading… Thanks for the recipe! I’ll be making these again for sure!

8 thoughts on “Aunt Della’s Meatballs

  1. Your meatball dinner looks like it turned out great. I like the polenta addition – nice touch. I also love Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. Some of the burger joints they’ve showcased look amazing. I find myself drooling at the TV. Have a good day – the first week back is almost over. 🙂

  2. How funny, I made meatballs last night too! I just had a hankerin’ for them after work. Mine were adapted from Giada DeLaurentis’s “Everyday Italian” recipe for turkey meatballs. Instead of pasta, I made Trader Joe’s frozen gnocchi (the kind that comes with it’s own marinara sauce), which saved some calories. Yum!!!

  3. Pingback: Albóndigas y Espaguetis (Spaghetti and Meatballs) « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

