Spicy Black Bean Burgers

Happy Monday all! Today was so much better of a day than all of last week, so I’m in a fantastic mood (finally!). I’m sure Adam appreciates that too πŸ™‚

Tonight’s dinner was inspired by a recipe on Beadie’s blog, What I Ate Yesterday. I originally intended on just using her recipe, but upon further research, I kind of combined hers with another. Since I’d never made black bean burgers before, I felt like I had to at least sort of follow a recipe! First, the recipe and photo:

Accompanied by sauteed mushrooms and roasted cauliflower

Accompanied by sauteed mushrooms and roasted cauliflower

Spicy Black Bean Burgers

Ingredients

2 cans black beans, drained and well rinsed; divided

1 small onion, cut into chunks

1/2 green pepper, cut into chunks

3 cloves of garlic, peeled

1 egg

1 1/2 Tbsp. Chili powder

1 tsp Sriracha or other hot sauce

3/4 c. breadcrumbs (I used panko)

Directions

In a bowl, place 1/2 of the beans (1 can), garlic, and the vegetable chunks. Using an immersion blender, blend well until no chunks remain. Add the rest of the beans and blend briefly, so that some whole beans remain. Add the egg, chili powder, and hot sauce. Stir well. Add the bread crumbs and combine until the mixture is sticky. Form into 4 patties and either bake, 10 minutes per side in a 400* oven, grill, or pan-fry until hot all the way through and the outside is crunchy.

And now the review…

WOW! Really, I’m seriously never going to eat a pre-made, frozen, sub-par veggie burger again! I ate mine on a reduced fat and calorie bun with cheese, tomatoes, and ketchup.

Adam said:

These are WAY better than the veggie burgers at Chili’s! I think they’d be great with some fat free ranch or even Miracle Whip. I think, next time, we should make them smaller because the crunchy part is so much better than the softer inside. We could have black bean sliders!”

I totally agree. The crunchy outsides of the burger far surpass the inside, even though the texture of the inside was fantastic. I think the recipe could be great with different twists: Italian, non-spicy, or even as a patty melt with grilled onions.

Thanks to Biz, all I’ve wanted for DAYS is sauteed mushrooms, so I made some to go with my burger. I also roasted some cauliflower, which is a new favorite. I can’t believe all this time, I’d only ever steamed cauliflower! I did some research (ok, I read the manual) on my camera, and found a setting thats awesome for food! Check out this close-up!

I'm getting better at this!

I'm getting better at this!

I’m thinking about doing some sort of cooking giveaway… stay tuned!


10 thoughts on “Spicy Black Bean Burgers

  1. YUM! those look like legit burgers πŸ˜€ I’ve only steamed cauliflower so i need to try roasting it, steamed they are just kind of mushy and blah.

  2. Back again!! πŸ™‚

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

Leave a Reply

