Chipotle Pinto Bean Burgers

Well, this vegetarian week is going way better than I thought. Come to think of it, I haven’t had any meat-based meals all week, except for one chicken-topped Lean Cuisine pizza! I do, however, really want a steak, or some sushi, or chicken… I’m such a carnivore! It has definitely been a nice, rather inexpensive change of pace though!

Tonight, we decided at the beginning of the week, was bean burger night. I was so torn: do I make the black bean burgers from last week that were so very good, or do I try to create a new one? I voted for creating a new one, and my creation was so delicious! Next time, I think I’ll use slightly less bread crumbs, but other than that, this recipe is a keeper.

Blurry for some reason, but you can see how good these look!

Blurry for some reason, but you can see how good these look!

Chipotle Pinto Bean Burgers

2 cans pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 small green pepper, cut into chunks

2 chipotle peppers, cut into pieces

2 Tbsp. reserved adobo sauce from chipotle chiles

1 Tbsp. chili powder

1 egg

2 garlic cloves

3/4 c. dry bread crumbs

Directions

In a mixing bowl, place the beans, chipotles, adobo, egg, garlic, and green peppers and blend with a stick blender (you can also do this in the food processor). Stir in bread crumbs. Heat a large frying pan with olive oil or spray, and spoon some of the mixture into the pan, creating patties of the size you want. Flip once after one side is browned. Enjoy!

We found that the smaller burgers cooked more evenly and got nice and crispy. My batch made 7 small, English muffin-sized burgers.  For you WW folks, the NI comes to: 128 calories, 1 gram of fat, 5 grams of fiber when the recipe is made into 7 burgers.

I ate mine with a small side of a sliced tomato with olive oil, pepper, and shredded parmesan:

I wish I'd had fresh basil!

I wish I'd had fresh basil!

Also, a new favorite thing: pan roasted broccoli! I swear, anything would be better roasted (have I said that recently?)

roastiness...droool....

roastiness...droool....

I’m so beyond excited that tomorrow is Friday, and I do have to say… we may be doing sushi tomorrow, so Vegetarian Week may be over, but I’m so glad I’ve figured out these delicious meat-free dishes. They’re all things I think I’ll put into regular rotation!


15 thoughts on “Chipotle Pinto Bean Burgers

  1. I love it! I’ll be making these this weekend. I made them once before and my kids LOVED them so I’ll be making a double batch! Laura

  2. Mmmm…those burgers sound really good! I’ll be making your chili recipe Saturday night. I’m pretty excited about that!!! 🙂

  3. I tried roasting my broccoli last night, per your recommendation. It turned out really tasty and saved time over steaming. My only problem is the burnt smell that lingers. Maybe I had the heat up too high. I also noticed that the olive oil got soaked up really fast, so I added more, which also soaked up fast. My low cal veggie was turning into a high-cal side dish! So the next time I will just use some non-stick spray and keep my hand off the oil bottle — I’m sure it will turn out just as good. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Pingback: Holy TGIF, Batman! « What’s For Dinner?

  5. Pingback: Tandoori Chicken Tenders « What’s For Dinner?

  6. Pingback: Bernie’s BBQ Sauce (With a POM Twist) « What’s For Dinner?

Leave a Reply

