Parmesan Tilapia With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

I happened upon a recipe today for something that had roasted red peppers in it. Then my mind started to wander… what else can I do with roasted red peppers? Salad? Nope, too cold out. Sushi? Nope, too difficult for a Tuesday. Pasta? Maybe… I need more protein than that. AH! I’ll make a roasted red pepper sauce to go on whatever protein is on sale at the grocery store!

Something about roasted red peppers reminds me of being a very little girl. I know, not your average “little girl” food… but I have vivid memories of my mom making toasted bialys with slices of roasted red pepper, a little garlic powder, and shredded mozzarella cheese. This had such a distinctive smell, and it was SO delicious! I wanted a dinner that sort of tasted like that nostalgic breakfast, but since bialys are hard to come by, I went with a parmesan-crusted tilapia.

I swear, the sauce is a beautiful red color!

I swear, the sauce is a beautiful red color!

Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

Ingredients

1 jar roasted red peppers

1 clove garlic

1/4 c. chicken broth

1/4 c. fat free sour cream

Directions

In a small pot, puree the red peppers, garlic, and chicken broth into a smooth liquid. Heat through without boiling, then stir in sour cream.

Served on a bed of sauteed spinach

Served on a bed of sauteed spinach

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Ingredients

1 lb. tilapia fillets

1 egg, beaten

2 Tbsp. fat free milk

salt and pepper to taste

2/3 c. panko crumbs

1/4 c. shredded parmesean cheese

1 tbsp. oil

Directions

Mix the egg and milk in one dish, and the panko and parmesean cheese in another with the salt and pepper. Coat the fish with the egg mixture, then with the crumb mixture. Sautee in a large pan with the heated oil.

I served the fish on top of a bed of sauteed spinach, then topped the whole thing with a generous helping of the sauce. It was so fresh tasting! It had just the right flavor combination to completely throw me back to being a kid, but still “new”. This is definitely something that will be put into regular rotation… well, the sauce will be since thats the “new” thing!

9 thoughts on “Parmesan Tilapia With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

  1. Oh my. I love bialys!! And crusted fish. It has to be one of my all-time favorite savory dishes. The roasted red pepper sauce looks deliciously creamy, too!

  2. Oh my goodness, I wish I would have made my tilapia the other night like this. Sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

