Ah, Nostalgia…

All through college, I loved to pretend that I could cook. Wait, that’s not quite right. I used to like to pretend I could cook fancy food. In all reality though, I could make a few things very well.

  1. Pizza Chicken
  2. Ratatouille
  3. Baked pasta (made with a jarred “baked pasta” sauce)
  4. Lemon chicken w/noodles
  5. Turkey burgers

Yeah, thats about it. #4 up there was one of my favorites because it tasted a lot like something fancy (Chicken Picatta) but it was super simple. My friends all thought that it was so fancy, and asked me to make it for them all the time. Little did they know that it stemmed from a failed attempt at trying to make ACTUAL chicken picatta!

Since Adam and I had a relaxing night planned of doing a lot of nothing, I decided it was time to break out that old non-recipe for dinner tonight. I found myself sitting on the couch, watching Food Network, eating my lemon chicken and pasta, and was immediately thrown back… I was 20 again, living in the “Blue House”, getting ready for what some people would call a “lame” night. No, wait… the Blue House days were the days of drunken craft night with Ericka, involving way too many sparkly beads and hot glue!  Enough reminiscing… on to the recipe (This is for ONE serving)

Yes, my dinner was beige with beige.

Yes, my dinner was beige with beige.

Lemon Chicken With Noodles

Ingredients

1 chicken breast, pounded thin

1/4 c. flour

2 tsp. garlic powder

2 tsp. olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

juice of 1 lemon

1 c. cooked whole wheat pasta, kept hot

1 tbsp. parmesan cheese

Directions

Mix the flour and garlic powder together in a shallow dish. In a large heavy skillet, heat the olive oil and garlic together. Coatboth sides of the chicken breast with the flour mixture, and place the chicken in the pan. Cook, turning once. When the chicken is almost all the way cooked through, pour the juice of the lemon into the pan. Flip the chicken once again, and add more lemon juice if needed. Stir the parmesan cheese into the hot noodles, and eat.

Sometimes, if I got really ambitious with this recipe in college, I’d add some frozen broccoli florets. Usually though, I’d just go a little more nuts with the parmesan cheese (like, 1/2 c. or so) and about double the noodles. This is why I gained weight in college!!

Enjoy the simple recipe!

8 thoughts on “Ah, Nostalgia…

  1. You are so creative! And you know… it usually takes a TRUE chef to make a signature dish out of something that didn’t exactly match her original plan 🙂

  2. Ahh yes, the college days – mine were filled with plenty of pasta as well…not to mention bagels, cereal, Ramen noodles. I was a walking refined carb!

    Thanks for this recipe – it does sound really easy. I think I’d add some of the broccoli or maybe some frozen peas? Hmm, we’ll see. 🙂

    Thanks Mara!

  3. Yum – I tried one lemon pasta recipe and it was a TOTAL failure. Nick and I don’t throw out meals very often, but that was one of them.

    i need to try this one!

Leave a Reply

