Steak and Spinach Almost Rolls

I don’t know if my iron levels are low or something, but all I’ve been wanting the last couple days is steak. Ground beef just wouldn’t cut it! I searched around today for ideas with steak, and I found a couple interesting recipes, most featuring steak and spinach. Being the weirdo that I am, I of course couldn’t just follow a recipe, so I took a few bits from a few different recipes and created my own. Alas, mine didn’t look as pretty as the ones I found online, but it was still a delicious dinner! I call them “almost” rolls because the steak didn’t quite stay rolled up. It was more like 2 layers of steak with spinach between them…

Definitely not my prettiest meal

Definitely not my prettiest meal

Steak and Spinach Rolls

Ingredients

1 lb. sirloin steak

1.5 c. chopped cooked spinach, kept warm

3 wedges Laughing Cow Light Cheese

1 tsp. garlic powder

1 c. tomato puree

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Pound the steak to a 1/2″ thickness. Sprinkle each side with salt and pepper. In a small bowl, mix the cooked spinach with 2 of the laughing cow cheese wedges and 1/2 of the garlic powder. Spread the spinach mixture in a thin layer over the steak. Gently roll up. (Here’s where I went wrong!) Secure with toothpicks or skewers or string. Heat a large pan and gently lay the rolled steak into it. Cook about 4-5 minutes on each side. Remove the steak from the pan but leave the heat on. Pour the tomato puree carefully into the pan. Scrape the bottom of the pan to get the drippings into the sauce, then lower the heat. Add remaining garlic powder, Laughing Cow, and salt and pepper. Slice the steak roll into slices, serve with the tomato sauce.

I also made garlic roasted potatoes to go on the side. It was, all in all, a very delicious meal… in fact, one of the first in a while that upon first bite, both Adam and I went “mmm yum!” I’m hoping for a few more of those this week, since I’m breaking out some recipes I haven’t made in the LONGEST time!

In case you haven’t already, you HAVE TO check out my friend Beadie’s Bead Page. She makes the most gorgeous beaded jewelry, and is finally showing it off! Also, go to this post on HangryPants for an almond butter giveaway!

Have a great evening!

16 thoughts on “Steak and Spinach Almost Rolls

  1. I love making recipes my own. I’m always morphing three or four from the Internet into one. 🙂

    I’m a bit obsessed with Laughing Cow these days, and I loved that you used it in this recipe.

    Hope you got your iron fix!

  2. Hey Lady 🙂 Just wanted to say hi now that I have returned to Earth from marathon training 🙂 I feel like I’ve been out of it. Have a good little day.

  3. Im still laughing that you said I seem normal…I may not be but I am to you 🙂

    totally cracked this eggwhiteeatingtattoo’dmamaoncehaddreadlocks woman up.

  4. that looks glorious! i’ll have to make it for the hubby when he gets back
    hope you’re having a great day!

  5. Pingback: The BSI Envelope Please…. «

Leave a Reply

