Holy Fritatta, Batman!

I can remember my mom making fritattas when I was a little kid. I would watch her throw a bunch of stuff in a pan, cook it a few minutes, put the pan in the oven and then POOF yummy breakfast (or dinner) served with sour cream. Not too long ago, I asked my mom to actually show me step by step how to make one of these delicious dishes, and she happily did. I made them at friends’ houses for brunches, and for my mom on Mother’s Day, but I had yet to make one in my own home, in my own kitchen. Adam had never even had one!

At our engagement party, my good friend Josh and his wife Anna gave Adam and I a 10″ cast iron skillet. My first thought was “FINALLY! I can make something that goes from the stove to the oven… FRITATTA!” Tonight there was a dilemma: frozen pizza or fritatta? I counted up my Points® for the day and realized that I did NOT have enough for pizza. Fritatta it was!

According to Wikipedia, a fritatta is:

A frittata is a type of Italian omelette that frequently features fillings such as meats, cheeses, and vegetables. Like a traditional French omelette, a frittata is prepared in a skillet. However, whereas an omelette is cooked on a stovetop and served folded, a frittata is first partially cooked on a stovetop but then broiled (grilled) to finish and served open-faced.

So, thats what I did!

It's like a beautiful landscape!

It's like a beautiful landscape!

Fritatta Delizioso

Ingredients

3 eggs

3 egg whites

1/4 c. skim milk

4 or 5 small red potatoes

1 box frozen chopped spinach

2 c. frozen broccoli

2/3 c. fat free cheddar cheese

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 375*. Pre-cook the potatoes in the microwave for about 5 minutes. Then, cut the potatoes into small chunks. Heat your oven safe pan on the stovetop, and add the potato chunks to the pan. Add the frozen spinach and broccoli, and cook until the vegetables are thawed and softened. The frozen vegetables provide enough water to finish cooking the potatoes, but fresh vegetables can be used as well. Sprinkle the vegetables with the garlic powder, salt and pepper and then stir. In a large bowl, beat the eggs and egg whites together with the milk until frothy. Add the cheese to the vegetables, then pour the eggs into the pan. Cook until the eggs are partially set, then tranfter the pan to the oven. Cook until the eggs are fully set and the top is browned. Cut into slices and serve with sour cream. Makes 4 4-Point® servings or 8 2-Point® servings.

This recipe can be made with pretty much any vegetables or any fillings you like. I’ve had them with peppers, tomatoes, bacon… anything! Of course the Points® value would change with different fillings. Adam said that the best way to describe the taste was like a combination of a quiche and a breakfast skillet.

I’m thrilled with the fact that if I happen to get hungry later tonight, another slice of this will only be a small dent in my daily Points®!

Stay tuned for some changes in my food photos in the next few days… see if you can spot the changes!!

14 thoughts on “Holy Fritatta, Batman!

  1. I love the name of it 🙂

    I love frittatas, too! sometimes, I’m too lazy to break out the cast iron, so I just cook it almost all the way on the stove top and then just put the lid on the pan! Done 🙂

  2. I’ve used my cast iron skillet twice to make a frittata, and I’ve burned the bottom of both of them. I need to try again as they were still so good despite the black crusties at the bottom. Your’s looked great. Glad Adam was able to enjoy a lovely first frittata!

  3. oh that looks good! I am unable to cook and I feel bummed 😦 I am super sick and on heavy duty drugs so I will cook vicariously through you.

Leave a Reply

