Fun and Fabulous Friday!

Today was a fantastic end to a very long week. I had far too many days where I was up too late and got up too early, and with the full moon on Tuesday, my students were INSANE!

I left work today at 2:15 and made a 45-mile drive southeast to my old stomping grounds to pick up Jenn and another blog reader for my first-ever Blogger meet up! I was SO EXCITED! I spent most of my drive out there antsy and nervous… what if they don’t like me?! What if I’m overdressed? What if they laugh at my food? Then, I met them, and PHEW! They were SO very nice and normal! We headed down to the Chicago Loop to Thai Spoon and Sushi and met up with Rose. She too was so nice and fun! It was really nice to hang with a group of girls.

Let me tell you, there was a LOT of tofu on our table! I got sushi (of course) and my Friday night treat of a Diet Coke.

Yup, Friday Night Sushi!

Yup, Friday Night Sushi!

Also on the table was age-dashi tofu (a Japanese fried tofu dish), fried tofu sticks with peanut sauce, and 2 types of pad thai, one with tofu! The sushi was great, and the conversation was even better!

After dinner, our reader friend took a pic of the 3 bloggers:

EatingBender, OnALobsterPlacemat, imadedinner (thats me!)

EatingBender, OnALobsterPlacemat, imadedinner (thats me!)

After dinner, we dropped Rose off at another restaurant to meet up with her friends, and we headed back to the suburbs. On the way home, I stopped at a childhood favorite (ok, its still a favorite) restaurant to get carry out for Adam. This place is one of my favorites for an exceptionally inexpensive dinner out, and it’s fantastic Mediterranean food. If you’re ever in the Chicagoland area, you MUST go to Pita Inn! (Don’t forget your promise, Jenn!) ANYWAY, I got Adam his food, and got a small babagannouj (roasted egplant dip) for me.

There was warm pita bread too!

There was warm pita bread too!

Then Adam and I split the cupcake that Jenn so generously got for me, and I’ll be hopped up on the sugar for a while!

HOW freaking cute is that?!

HOW freaking cute is that?! Thanks Jenn!

ALSO, there was a package for me when I got home from my mom! She’s on a short vacation visiting her husband’s family, but still managed to send me a Valentine’s present! There was a bright green ProFlowers box on the counter, and when I opened it, there was the most GORGEOUS bouquet of pink, red, and white tulips! Thanks Axor πŸ™‚

dscn2060

Now, some blogger business!

  • Are you having a hard time coming up with BSI recipes? Check here for some inspiration! Don’t forget to get your BSI entries in by SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 15!!!!
  • I’ll be picking the winner for my 100th Post Giveaway TOMORROW evening at 9 p.m. CDT, and the winner will be announced Sunday morning, so get those entries in!!! I know you want to win the cutest scarf in the world πŸ™‚

Thanks for such a fun night ladies, I had a seriously great time. It was worth every minute of time and every ounce of gas!!!

18 thoughts on “Fun and Fabulous Friday!

  1. YAY! I had such a fun time with you tonight, Mara. Thank you so much for driving me. It was so much better to have a ride and have even more time to chat, too!

    Your friend wasn’t kidding – the restaurant was amazing. And of course, I remember my Pita Inn promise πŸ˜‰ You know I’ll give you a big shout out when I finally make it there! Do you remember your “promise” on what you were going to email me?! Do it do it! And if you don’t remember, I’ll remind you!

    I’m so glad you liked the cupcake, too!! And you got some gorgeous flowers?! This is such a great Friday night!!

    Have a great weekend and get some sleep!

  2. my goodness – you ladies are glowing and absolutely beautiful! and it looks like you guys had a wonderful time during your blogger meet up!

  3. Hi! I don’t think I’ve ever commented on your site (but that’s cuz I’m pretty intimidated by pro-bloggers who have billions of comments), but I just wanna say I love your blog!! I decided I totally have to comment today because I’m new to the blogger community, but I live in Chicago too, AND most of all I LOVEEEEEEEEE PITA INN!!!! I swear I get it every 2 weeks even though it’s a 1 hour drive for me. πŸ™‚ Thanks soooo much for loving it too? hahahah I’m so glad you guys had fun meeting up! πŸ™‚ Definitely would loooove to read more! Happy Valentines Day!!

Leave a Reply

